return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > Production Studio

Throwing yourself in at the deep end (learn structure)
View this Thread in Original format
shadowsthatmove
Over the past year ive played around with production software just for fun, not really knowing what i was doing. Now i've just invested in a new mac and plan to it alot more seriously. Over the past few months ive been learning bits and piece from books, magazines, and reading fourms. However theres so much i feel like im just learning tiny bits of everything instead of mastering one area and moving on. If you were me what way would you breakdown you learning, what would you learn first and what would you move onto next?

Really appreciate your help with this as i feel not having a structure is holding me back.

Thanks,

S
cryophonik
quote:
Originally posted by shadowsthatmove
If you were me...

I'm not you, so it's kinda hard to answer the question without knowing where you're currently at in terms of knowledge and what you're struggling with.
shadowsthatmove
quote:
Originally posted by cryophonik
I'm not you, so it's kinda hard to answer the question without knowing where you're currently at in terms of knowledge and what you're struggling with.

if u were starting over what would you learn first? Music theory, compression, eq, etc.

Just looking someone to point me the right direction. I know abit of everything but i want to focus on one thing at a time and master that before moving on. I think that would be a better way to learn?
cryophonik
Then, I guess my advice would be to take a two-pronged approach and tackle both the creative and technical aspects.