return to tranceaddict TranceAddict Forums Archive > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth

Pages: [1] 2 
CDJ or DJ Turntables for a nOOb?
View this Thread in Original format
leph555
So, im pretty new to tranceaddict but i have been listening to Trance for almost 5 years now! I have always wanted a dj set up, but i have a hard time deciding between CDJ's and Turntables. I just wanted to know what can you recomend to a noob for a budget of only $1,200 ? Like what mixer, etc ? :conf:
Spirit5
2 CJ 200s ($800), and an inexpensive mixer, like something for $299, like a Numark DXM06 or 09, a Vestax PCV 275, or a Pioneer DJM 300. A pair of headphones for around $60 to 80%, either the Senheiser HD212 (I have them, pretty decent for a $60 pair), or you could get the Stanton DJ Pro 200, for $80, or the Sony MDR-V600 for approx $99, a bit more. I'de just go for something like the HD 212, good isolation and bass response, but maybe not as loud as the others. But this my recommendation, and money for MP3 or WAVs (just use 320 kbps MP3s, they don't sound that much different from WAV, saves $$). Unless you have MP3s already...
Spirit5
I would not recommend vinyl TTs for newbies, unless you have a lot of money for records and are really serious about it. Seems like more and more people are just getting CDJs to start out with anyways. If you don't live near a record store, you will have to order them online and it costs extra for shipping and you have to wait for records to be available, ones you can just get on MP3 anyways, without having a waiting period.
leph555
what are some of the best websites were i will be able to find all this for sale?
Spirit5
quote:
Originally posted by leph555
what are some of the best websites were i will be able to find all this for sale?