Become a part of the TranceAddict community! Frequently Asked Questions - Please read this if you haven'tSearch the forums
tranceaddict Forums > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth > Bedroom DJs...Post Pics of Your Setup Here :)
Pages (795): « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 [356] 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread    Post A Reply
nrjizer
vive le deep



Registered: Jan 2001
Location: Bumfuck, GA

Well my mixer has two master outs, one is 1/4 and the other is RCA, so that wouldn't be a problem. What might be, however, is that it's only 3 channel (Vestax PCV-275). Is it necessary to have 2 channels on your mixer free for Ableton?

And out of curiosity, the only thing that the RedSounds is sending to Ableton is a signal to run at x tempo correct? Because if it's sending an audio signal into it, and Ableton then goes back into the mixer, it seems like it would get caught in a loop somehow (no pun intended).

I'm sure that it just sends a midi signal... but I though I'd ask anyways to satisfy my curiosity.

I'm intrigued by this little thing, I've already got Ableton going (not on a laptop though, so I couldn't take it with me) and I could really rock out if I could get Ableton going with my decks!


___________________
NEW MIX [Feb/March 2008]

Last edited by nrjizer on Feb-14-2006 at 03:55

Old Post Feb-14-2006 03:40  United States
Click Here to See the Profile for nrjizer Click Here to Email nrjizer Click here to Send nrjizer a Private Message Add nrjizer to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
Trogdor
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA

quote:
Originally posted by DFOP04 waiting to upgrade to serato scratch and rip all my vinyl so i can get rid of all the dam lot!!!too much!! and offer to all you people at TA!!
Remember, that once you get rid of all of the vinyl you ripped, you're also required, by law, to get rid of the mp3 copies. So, then you would be left with no music. Unfortunately, you have to keep the hard copies, or you're not allowed to play the files. You could put the vinyl in storage, though.

Nice setup, btw.

Old Post Feb-14-2006 07:22  United States
Click Here to See the Profile for Trogdor Click here to Send Trogdor a Private Message Add Trogdor to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
D@VE!
Junior tranceaddict



Registered: Feb 2005
Location: LA

quote:
Originally posted by harriz
Heres how you combine ableton live with it in 6 easy-to-follow steps:
Step 1:
Hope this helps if you have any further questions do not hesitate to send me a private message.


Will this piece till be nesecery if i upgrade to a :92 ?


___________________
Music Is The Life For ME!
www.groovejunk.com

Old Post Feb-14-2006 08:36  United States
Click Here to See the Profile for D@VE! Click here to Send D@VE! a Private Message Add D@VE! to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
harriz
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: May 2005
Location:

quote:
Originally posted by nrjizer
Well my mixer has two master outs, one is 1/4 and the other is RCA, so that wouldn't be a problem. What might be, however, is that it's only 3 channel (Vestax PCV-275). Is it necessary to have 2 channels on your mixer free for Ableton?

And out of curiosity, the only thing that the RedSounds is sending to Ableton is a signal to run at x tempo correct? Because if it's sending an audio signal into it, and Ableton then goes back into the mixer, it seems like it would get caught in a loop somehow (no pun intended).

I'm sure that it just sends a midi signal... but I though I'd ask anyways to satisfy my curiosity.

I'm intrigued by this little thing, I've already got Ableton going (not on a laptop though, so I couldn't take it with me) and I could really rock out if I could get Ableton going with my decks!



Answer to question 1:
-You really need one channel dedicated to it.
So you have decks on one and two that leaves 3 free for ableton.
But then you have to preview ableton using a soundcard and a different pair of headphones.

How I would do it is I would set channel one and two for the turntables (phono in)
and channels two and three for ableton (line in).
Channel two would be the preview channel and three would be the main channel of ableton.

So you are playing the records that just came in the mail rocking out, fealing the music , but you want to transition to ableton live. You are @ channel two.
Channel 3 is faded down you are getting ready to trigger live, you do,you start fading
now you are into live!!
You flip channel two to line & start creating white noise, fucking with the music, adding loops, clicks, effects, but after a few transitions inspiration hits you and you think of this hardfloor classic that you want to mix in. Now you are back on the decks.

The main advantages of this is that you are still djing in the traditional sence of the word but you are also experimenting with how djing is going to be say 10 years from now when nobody will be using records or cds. Everybody will be using a fusion of audio and video with computers.

Answer to question 2:
-Midi is NOT audio. It is just information in the form of ones and zeros.
What this red sound thing does is it listens to the sound (BOOM/BOOM/KABABOOM/BOOM/BOOM/KABABOOM)and generates a midi clock and sends it to the computer via a midi in in a soundcard or a midi card or a midi controler.
Live then is set to slave mode.

The master is the beat extractor(or microsynch), the slave is ableton live
slave takes his orders from the master and keep the downbeats locked like a good slave.

Last edited by harriz on Feb-14-2006 at 14:51

Old Post Feb-14-2006 13:48 
Click Here to See the Profile for harriz Click here to Send harriz a Private Message Add harriz to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
nrjizer
vive le deep



Registered: Jan 2001
Location: Bumfuck, GA

Ahh, I read to fast and didn't realize it just plugged into a midi slot.

As for the mixer, that sounds like a good solution... theoretically, I could just have one master Ableton channel and use the mixer's cue to preview it, but if it's already playing and I want to preview something else I'd be up shits creek.


___________________
NEW MIX [Feb/March 2008]

Old Post Feb-14-2006 15:02  United States
Click Here to See the Profile for nrjizer Click Here to Email nrjizer Click here to Send nrjizer a Private Message Add nrjizer to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
harriz
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: May 2005
Location:

quote:
Originally posted by D@VE!
Will this piece till be nesecery if i upgrade to a :92 ?



No but you can use it as a beat counter to beatout your records so you know where to structure them in your box, or sell it on ebay and use the money to buy... a nice shirt

A xone 92 has this build into it. That was their selling point.
A lot of you bought the thing because it had midi but never used it.
Like it has this midi thing build into it, I don't know what this midi thing is but it must be good hmm..coz everybody says so, plus even John Digweed uses it!

Marketing, I'm tellin' you.. turns everything to shit....

And the funny thing is that the best dj mixers are not found in clubs
you will find them in bedrooms hocked up to like a 100W home stereo
with a build in alarm clock.

Most clubs I go to have these old school numark mixers with no three band eq on each channel,
just like a overall graphic eq which is better than nothing but almost as good as nothing.Shamefull

Old Post Feb-14-2006 15:17 
Click Here to See the Profile for harriz Click here to Send harriz a Private Message Add harriz to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
harriz
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: May 2005
Location:

quote:
Originally posted by nrjizer


As for the mixer, that sounds like a good solution... theoretically, I could just have one master Ableton channel and use the mixer's cue to preview it, but if it's already playing and I want to preview something else I'd be up shits creek.

------------------------------------------
channel 1 : (phono1) deck a
------------------------------------------
channel 2 : (phono2) deck b
+
(line 2) preview channel of ableton live
-------------------------------------------
channel 3 : (line3) Main channel of ableton live
-------------------------------------------

But what if I am playing a record in channel 2 but want to transition in
ableton, How will I preview ableton ?


Your 3rd channel becomes your preview channel because your audience cant hear what you are doing with ableton because channel 3 is down .
When you are ready you fade in channel three.
Then you fade out channel 2 and flip the switch to line to get going with ableton.

But lets say I am greedy and I want to play both channel 2 on phono and be able to fully move in and out of tracks in ableton live as I please?

You start the transition from channel 1 to leave you two spare channels.
Hope this answers your question.

Old Post Feb-14-2006 15:39 
Click Here to See the Profile for harriz Click here to Send harriz a Private Message Add harriz to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
nrjizer
vive le deep



Registered: Jan 2001
Location: Bumfuck, GA

That works. My mixer also has an input select switch right on the front panel, so if I needed to cue a record and Ableton at the same time, I'd just switch between them. Better to buy a $150~ beatcounter than a $1600 xone when my Vestax works just fine.

Now I'm wondering, what kind of soundcard will be able to handle all of this? It sounds like Ableton alone is going to need two separate lines out, plus two MIDI lines in (one for the RedSounds, the other for a MIDI controller, which I may as well get if I'm going to do this right). I'm also going to need a third line out for my speakers (since I run my mixer's master out through my computer so that I can record with Cool Edit).

It seems to me like I'm not going to find one short of $300~. Right now I'm looking at the M-Audio Delta 1010. Perhaps it would be cheaper to buy two of these and run them in conjunction?

Right now I'm using the onboard soundcard that came with my Nforce2 motherboard. It has a 1/8" line in and two 1/8" line outs (for surround sound--they aren't independent lines). If the drivers would let me, I could use this as well...


___________________
NEW MIX [Feb/March 2008]

Old Post Feb-14-2006 16:37  United States
Click Here to See the Profile for nrjizer Click Here to Email nrjizer Click here to Send nrjizer a Private Message Add nrjizer to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
ivanbee
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Aug 2005
Location: -

quote:
Originally posted by DFOP04


pic doesnt do my setup justice, will put more on when i have the time, but at the mo i have:

2 x technic 1210 mk2s
1 x pioneer djm500
1 x sony 700 headphones
1 x apple ibook G4


waiting to upgrade to serato scratch and rip all my vinyl so i can get rid of all the dam lot!!!too much!! and offer to all you people at TA!!

notice the egg boxes on the walls!!i was bored at uni!ha, looks good anyway!

max

do the egg boxes work?

Old Post Feb-14-2006 17:43 
Click Here to See the Profile for ivanbee Click here to Send ivanbee a Private Message Add ivanbee to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
ivanbee
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Aug 2005
Location: -

quote:
Originally posted by DFOP04


pic doesnt do my setup justice, will put more on when i have the time, but at the mo i have:

2 x technic 1210 mk2s
1 x pioneer djm500
1 x sony 700 headphones
1 x apple ibook G4


waiting to upgrade to serato scratch and rip all my vinyl so i can get rid of all the dam lot!!!too much!! and offer to all you people at TA!!

notice the egg boxes on the walls!!i was bored at uni!ha, looks good anyway!

max

do the egg boxes work?

Old Post Feb-14-2006 17:43 
Click Here to See the Profile for ivanbee Click here to Send ivanbee a Private Message Add ivanbee to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
ivanbee
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: Aug 2005
Location: -

quote:
Originally posted by DFOP04


pic doesnt do my setup justice, will put more on when i have the time, but at the mo i have:

2 x technic 1210 mk2s
1 x pioneer djm500
1 x sony 700 headphones
1 x apple ibook G4


waiting to upgrade to serato scratch and rip all my vinyl so i can get rid of all the dam lot!!!too much!! and offer to all you people at TA!!

notice the egg boxes on the walls!!i was bored at uni!ha, looks good anyway!

max

do the egg boxes work?

Old Post Feb-14-2006 17:43 
Click Here to See the Profile for ivanbee Click here to Send ivanbee a Private Message Add ivanbee to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
DFOP04
Supreme tranceaddict



Registered: May 2004
Location: unDISCOVERed

i dont think so mate

i dont think so mate

i dont think so mate, just an aesthetic kinda thing, i had loadsa spare time on my hands, and thought it would be diff from hanging the usual flyer on my walls. havin said that i live in a semi detached house and play my music at a loud level and havnt had any complaints yet, so who knows, they may do the job but i doubt it! anyway they look good when i get the strobe going.

max

Old Post Feb-14-2006 18:36  England
Click Here to See the Profile for DFOP04 Click here to Send DFOP04 a Private Message Add DFOP04 to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message

tranceaddict Forums > DJing / Production / Promotion > DJ Booth > Bedroom DJs...Post Pics of Your Setup Here :)
Post New Thread    Post A Reply

Pages (795): « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 [356] 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 »  
Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

Forum Jump:

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:26.

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is ON
vB code is ON
[IMG] code is ON
 
Search this Thread:

 
Contact Us - return to tranceaddict

Powered by: Trance Music & vBulletin Forums
Copyright ©2000-2014

Privacy Statement
Geo Visitors Map

Icon