Become a part of the TranceAddict community!Frequently Asked Questions - Please read this if you haven'tSearch the forums
TranceAddict Forums > Main Forums > Music Discussion > The "talk about your last night out" thread
Pages (40): « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread    Post A Reply
Woony
Supreme tranceaddict

I totally get that what UR did was a political act, I just don't think they really had any wider revolutionary aims beyond the music business and their own community. I'm not an expert on the history of american politics but from what I've read, there is a long line of black american communists (which seems to always conviently get glossed over in the favor of the identity politics narrative) and while UR did employ some of the same signs and visual language, they aren't really part of that line.

quote:
Originally posted by Sand Leaper
Hah, got any links to all this? I knew Szepanski (and probably Wolle XDP, who Tanith sort of fell out with) were hard lefties, but the whole Baader-Meinhof thing is news to me Probably cos I don't own a whole lot of Force Inc on vinyl.

It's on Tanith's private Facebook, which is public, I think. It's from 2014 or 2015, I think but i'm too lazy to dig it up

Wolle is pretty left but not a marxist or anything, he's kinda crazy anyways.

This is the site Szepanski runs now - http://non.copyriot.com/. A lot of his writing is kind of inpenetrable, I speak a bit of Deleuze-Guattarian but you basically have to be fluent to understand what he's saying half of the time

http://non.copyriot.com/immanent-non-musicology-deleuzeguattari-vs-laruelle/

Old Post Aug-10-2017 20:35 
Click Here to See the Profile for Woony Click here to Send Woony a Private Message Add Woony to your buddy list Report this Post Reply w/Quote Edit/Delete Message
paulversuspaul
Inventor of the fist pump